L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte Foundation Review

And I’m baaack~~~

With a review of a Western product. Surprised? I know ;).

Allow me to explain. I have a love hate relationship with Walgreens! Every time I go, I absolutely have to check out the cosmetics section. It’s an addiction. If there is something new or on sale, it will probably end up in my hands.

This product has been out for a couple of months and I’m actually on my second tube of this. Why? Because the first was stolen by one of my sisters a couple of weeks ago. *Sigh* The pains of being the oldest haha.

Well, let’s get into why I’ve been wearing an actual foundation almost as much as my much beloved Innisfree Ampoule Cushion this Winter.

20150304_155728

Shade Options:

I’ve spent so long in the world of bb creams that I’ve forgotten that makeup can come in more than shades #13, #21, and #23. I find that amusing to say the least.

L’Oreal has a pretty good range of shades from light to dark in 12 options. I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to find a matching shade because I’ve had trouble with Western foundations in the past. My skin is pretty light, but has a yellow undertone and that’s been awfully hard to find at the drugstore level.

Luckily #104 Golden Beige turned out to be an absolute perfect match for my NC25 self!

4

Packaging:

I’m not mad about this packaging design. Tubes are always nice. Honestly, anything but a pumpless jar will satisfy me ;).

There is only one slight problem I have. Because of the finish on the tube, it’s a little difficult to choose a shade unless you check reviews first. Once you open it, the color is very close to the color on the outside, so that helps.

Texture:

Honestly, I was very surprised with the texture of this foundation! It’s super light and almost watery in consistency without compromising in coverage. I really appreciated this since I’m not used to wearing anything heavy on my face.

It does set suuuuper quickly, so it’s best to either use your fingers or a damp sponge/beauty blender and work in sections.

Coverage:

This is a solid medium coverage foundation. I barely had to use any concealer! Well, except for under my eyes, but those dark circles are in a league of their own!

It did a great job at making my skin looks smooth without any primer.

The packaging did say it had a demi-matte finish and I didn’t look dried out, but I did find that I preferred using a bit of highlighter with this foundation. I don’t think I’m entirely into the whole matte face thing.

Scent:

There is a slight chemical-like scent that I probably wouldn’t have noticed had I not intentionally smelled it. Definitely a change from floral scented bb cream. *cough* Lioele *cough*.

Longwear: 

Oh my goodness, did this foundation exceed my expectations! I have pretty dry skin so that probably helped, but I didn’t have to use any powder or touch up at all during the day! The best part is that it doesn’t oxidize either. None of that scary orange tint I used to get from Western drugstore foundations in the past!

Results:

And now to the actual application!

1

 

I haven’t had too much trouble with redness lately, but you can see hints of it as well as a couple blemishes here and there. And I think I got more freckles this Winter. How that happened, I will never know!

2Remember when I said that #104 was a perfect match? Well, look at that! It took me a minute to decide which half of my face I had actually applied the foundation too when I went back to look at the pictures. I have never found a foundation that matched my skintone this well before!

3

 

Ok, and now I’ve got the foundation all over without concealer. I can’t get over how natural the color is! It also did a great job at covering any redness and blemishes.

5Needless to say, this is now one of my favorite base products! It will probably be my go to foundation when the weather gets warmer and I need a bit more oil control.

So what about you? Have you tried this foundation yet?

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte Foundation Review

Leave a comment